Science and Engineering of MAterials, Interfaces, and Nanostructures
Home > Schools > MAIN

Science and Engineering of MAterials, Interfaces, and Nanostructures

The objectives of the thematic graduate school on science and engineering of materials, interfaces and nanostructures (MAIN) are

  • promoting multidisciplinary research associating fundamental and applied aspects in the fields of organic, inorganic and hybrid materials, surfaces and interfaces, and nanosciences (nanostructures and nanotechnologies);
  • providing high quality training to Ph.D. students realising a thesis in those fields.

Research in the fields of materials, surfaces and interfaces, and nanosciences is characterised by the need to integrate a wide range of disciplines (biochemistry, chemistry, physics, chemical physics, engineering, …) and  using both theoretical approaches (modelling and simulation), and experimental approaches (synthesis and characterisation).

MAIN gathers together research teams actives in the fields of physics, chemistry, agronomic sciences, biological engineering, engineering sciences.



Isabelle Huynen (UCLouvain, Spokeperson 2024-2025)
Gilles Bruylants (ULB)
Anne Mertens (ULiège)
Rony Snyders (UMONS)
Luc Henrard (UNamur)

Scientific committee
  • UMONS :
    Jérome Cornil
    Maurice Gonon
    Roberto Lazzaroni
    Rony Snyders
  • UNamur :
    Benoit Champagne
    Luc Henrard
    Robert Sporken
    Bao-Lian Su
  • UCLouvain :
    Sophie Demoustier
    Jean-Christophe Charlier
    Isabelle Huynen
    Bernard Nysten
  • ULB :
    Gilles Bruylants
    Jon Ustarroz
    Thierry Visart
  • ULiège :
    Christian Grandfils
    Stéphanie Lambert
    Anne Mertens
    Bénédicte Vertruyen


Université de Mons (UMONS)
Université de Namur (UNamur)
Université catholique de Louvain (UCLouvain)
  • Pôle ELEN – Institut ICTEAM
    Denis Flandre, Laurent Francis, Isabelle Huynen,  Dimitri Lederer, Sorin Melinte, Jean-Pierre Raskin
  • Pôle IMAP – Institut IMMC
    Aude Simar, Juray De Wilde, Pascal Jacques, Thomas Pardoen, Joris Proost, Patricia Luis Alconero, Hosni Idrissi
  • Pôle BSMA – Institut IMCN
    Arnaud Delcorte, Sophie Demoustier, Christine Dupont, Charles-André Fustin, Karine Glinel, Jean-François Gohy, Alain Jonas, Bernard Nysten, Luc Piraux, Evelyne Van Ruymbeke
  • Pôle MOST – Institut IMCN
    Damien Debecker, Michel Devillers, Benjamin Elias, Yaroslav Filinchuk, Eric Gaigneaux, Yann Garcia, Sophie Hermans, Tom Leyssens, Olivier Riant, Raphaël Robiette, Michael Singleton, Alexandru Vlad
  • Pôle NAPS – Institut IMCN
    Vincent Bayot, Pascal Gehring, Benoit Hackens, Clément Lauzin, Bernard Piraux, Xavier Urbain
  • Pôle MODL – Institut IMCN
    Jean-Christophe Charlier, Xavier Gonze, Geoffroy Hautier, Samuel Poncé, Gian-Marco Rignanese
Université de Liège (ULiège)


PhD students must follow a doctoral training program during their thesis and are invited to refer to the doctoral regulations in force at the university in which they are registered.

Each year, the EDT-MAIN organizes a PhD students’ Scientific Day, which gives them an excellent opportunity to present their research topic and latest results to their peers.